38 talks, 20 poster presentations, 7 exhibitors, and 5 sponsors – that’s the 9th Workshop on Physics and Technology of Semiconductor Lasers 2022 in a nutshell. The scope of the meeting covers various types of semiconductor lasers like nitride laser diodes, quantum cascade lasers, and VCSELs. Almost 100 researchers from all around the world have come to beautiful Krakow to discuss recent advancements in aspects ranging from design to device characterization.

Scroll down to find out who knows a little bit about Polish cuisine and what makes our workshop so special!

Did you know that apart from lectures and poster sessions, there are exhibitor ones too? Just take a look at the digital video microscope manufactured by Hirox – the brand that invented the video microscope. Thanks to its turret head it’s easier for us to „read” a defect sampling. (Technolutions Sp. z o.o stand).

Devmatech has a really exciting surprise for all the participants! At their stand you can take a look at… quantum dots… what will you see?… fluorescent liquids that shine due to the release of energy… we don’t want to reveal too much but trust us – it’s worth being there to learn about it!

However, that’s not all! We are happy to have with us the most amazing speakers: Mikhail Belkin, James Lott, Martin Kamp, Nikola Opačak, Åsa Haglund, Stephan Reitzenstein, Sven Einfeldt, Jan Suffczyński, and Anna Kafar.

Just at the beginning of the event, Martin Kamp from University of Wuerzburg, gave a speech on „Topological insulator vertical-cavity laser array” in which he presented basic terms in the field of surface topology surprising the audience by showing them… typical Polish tidbits: pierogi and obwarzanki. He said that pierogi are topologically identical to bowls, obwarzanek to a torus. We loved this comparison!

Next speeches coming soon!

Last but not least: the event has been jointly organized by Łukasiewicz – Institute of Microelectronics and Photonics (we’re the main organizer this year, Kamil Pierściński, Ph.D. is a chairman), Faculty of Experimental Physics of Politechnika Wrocławska, Department of Physics of Politechnika Łódzka, and Institute of High Pressure Physics of Polska Akademia Nauk.